It is considered a glitch, and could theoretically put your account at risk as it does indeed violate WeeWorld's Terms & Conditions, however there have been no reported instances of accounts being deleted for performing the Background Glitch

It is presumed to be safe, and WeeWorld is not likely to "crack down" on it as it does not cost them any money when people exploit it (as opposed to glitches that offer free items).